MIMS/UCMR Mini-Symposium, 29 May 2018

UCMR DAY 2018Welcome to the 3rd MIMS/UCMR-Mini-Symposium of the year!

29 May 2018, 9:00 - 11:50

Bergasalen, Umeå University Hospital (NUS), South Entrance
In the first session presentations by the Oliver Billker, appointed new Director of MIMS from 1st October, Barbara Sixt, new MIMS Group Leader,  Gemma Atkinson and Linda Sandblad, recipients of UCMR Gender Policy Support. In the second session five Postdoctoral Fellows from the MIMS/UCMR Postdoctoral Programme will present: Christian Pett, Hiraku Takada, Ravendra Nagampalli, Dharmedra Kumar Soni, Rajender Kumar.

Hosts: Bernt Eric Uhlin, Maria Fällman, Elisabeth Sauer-Eriksson, Åke Forsberg

Please register here latest on 27 May:

Contact for questions: Eva-Maria Diehl, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

NOTE the programme is updated (Christian Pett's presentation has been cancelled)

pdfProgramme for download


Session 1 (Chairs: Bernt Eric Uhlin & Maria Fällman)

9:00  Functional Profiling of a Plasmodium genome
Oliver Billker, Wellcome Sanger Institute, Cambridge, UK
From 1 September 2018: Professor in Biotechnology with an emphasis on
Molecular Genetics at the Department of Molecular Biology
From 1 October 2018: new MIMS Director

9:30  The Hidden Power of Cell-Autonomous Immunity
Barbara Sixt, Department of Molecular Biology
Since 1 May 2018: New MIMS Group Leader

9:50  Getting to the Roots of Antibiotic Resistance on the Ribosome
Gemma Atkinson, Department of Molecular Biology
recipient of UCMR Gender Policy Support

10:10  Visualization of Intermediate Filament Like Bacterial Cytoskeleton
by Electron Microscopy
Linda Sandblad, Department of Molecular Biology
Director for the Umeå Core Facility for Electron Microscopy (UCEM)
recipient of UCMR Gender Policy Support

10:30 Coffee break

Session 2: The MIMS/UCMR Postdoctoral Fellows 2017
(Chairs: Elisabeth Sauer-Eriksson & Åke Forsberg)

10:50 Regulation of activity of long RSHs from Bacillus subtilis (Rel)
Hiraku Takada, Department of Molecular Biology, group Vasili Hauryliuk

11:05 Investigating the sorting mechanism of fimbrial protein (Mfa4) by Lol CDE complex a class of ABC transporters from Porphyromonas gingivalis
A Biophysical and Structural biology approach?
Raghavendra Nagampalli, Department of Chemistry, group Karina Persson

11:20 Environmental cues that trigger Yersinia pseudotuberculosis persistent infection
Dharmendra Kumar Soni, Department of Molecular Biology, group Maria Fällman

11:35 Pan-genome analysis of the genus Francisella
Rajender Kumar, Department of Clinical Microbiology, group Anders Sjöstedt

11:50 End of the MIMS/UCMR Mini-Symposium

How to find Bergasalen: http://www.umu.se/om-universitetet/kartor?id=474


UCMR MIMS Postdoctoral Programme 2017 web

The Postdoctoral Fellows from the MIMS/UCMR Postdoctoral Programme, who presented their research projects already on the MIMS/UCMR Mini-Symposium, 10 April 2018 (from the left):
Nathalie Uwamahoro (group Urban), Rashmi Kumari (group Linusson), Leigh Bowman (group Rocklöv), Souvik Sakar (group Almqvist), Yong-Dae Kwon (group Evander), Abhayprasad Bhat, Arvind Kumar (group Elofsson), Marje Kasari (group Atkinson)